Southern Motion Furniture - Review about Leather Sectional from Chattanooga, Tennessee

Bought a leather sectional 5 years ago.After 2 yrs the leather started peeling.

Now the entire sectional is peeling.Paid over $1800 for this and am highly disappointed.

This review is a subjective opinion of a user.
Report Comment Private message author

More Review Details

Product or service
Leather Sectional
Review category
Furniture and Decor
review #531313

Author wants to be contacted by the company. Learn more

Had an experience with Southern Motion Furniture? Submit review ›
Helpful? 7 Yes 7 2 No 2
Had the same issue 14 Yes 14
Comment as anonymous As anonymous or Log in
OR Is it your business? Respond to your
customers as verified company representative.
Apply for a Free Plan

Jul 04 #1181035 Brooklyn, New York

Fat people do that to cheap leather. Cut your own hide and use that if you want real leather.

0 0 Reply

Mar 24 #1133220

That is Bonded Leather not real 100% leather, Ashley furniture calls some of theirs DuraBlend.

0 0 Reply

Nov 13, 2015 #1063358

What did you use to clean this it's a bonded leather learn how to take care of something before you go at it with harsh chemical

0 0 Reply

Apr 18, 2015 #973691 Brentwood, Tennessee

This is china made. Been in furniture for nearly 16 years and everything is going to china or Mexico so your better off buying 5 gallon buckets to sit on they will last longer and u can re- paint them to match

1 1 Reply

Feb 01, 2015 #939423 Orlando, Florida

That's because it is NOT leather but bonded ***!!

1 0 Reply

Dec 17, 2014 #917413 Tallahassee, Florida

Good grief!! Where did you buy this?? It doesn't matter if it's not real leather!! This should not happen after 2 years!! You might as well have thrown your $1800.00 down the toilet!! I have friends that have bought bonded leather living room sets and they are still beautiful after 7-8 years!! That really sucks : (!

1 1 Reply

Sep 24, 2014 #874690

Sorry, but that isn't leather. Leather doesn't peal and flake off, it's a solid piece of skin (with the exception of maybe a protective coating applied to the leather). What you likely have is bonded leather, which is only about 17% ground up leather that's mixed with plastics and dies and painted onto a cloth backing. Eventually it begins to break down and seperate from the backing.
How many cows have you seen with their skin peeling and flaking off?

3 0 Reply

May 30, 2015 #989771

The problem is that stores don't tell you it's not real leather. They, in fact, claim that it is. So unless you're a furniture expert, you will get swindled every time.

2 0 Reply

Sep 04, 2015 #1029586

Not so. I did lots of research before purchasing my top grain leather furniture by Southern Motion. Granted, many salesmen tried to push the bonded leather, but I had read enough issues that I wasn't going to risk it. I did have to walk out of one store because he wouldn't stop pushing bonded leather after I told him it was top grain leather only that I was interested in. They do try to convince you that bonded is just as good, but it isn't. And it isn't Southern Motions fault- it's the store that sold it to you.

0 0 Reply
Great comment! Would you like to convert it into review?

You will be able to edit the text before publishing.

× You are about to contact

Review submitted through "Contact Us" will not get published on the site or forwarded to Southern Motion Furniture. However, many companies do monitor reviews on our site.

You were reading a complaint about Southern Motion Furniture.
Filing a new complaint about